Spring Cove School District Board of Directors
    School Board 2016
    Seated (L to R)  Mr. Harold Blattenberger, Mr. James Smith,  Mr. Floyd Deterline, Mrs. Amy Acker-Knisely, 
    Standing (L to R)  Mrs. Christine Gojmerac, Miss Mary Smith, Dr. Betsy Baker (Superintendent),
    Mr. Troy Wright, Mr. Brian Gahagan,   Mr. Jason Rhykerd was absent when the photo was taken.
    An e-mail address has been created so that community members may submit comments to the School Board regarding issues or concerns related to public education. All communication received via this e-mail account will be shared with all members of the School Board.

    Please send your comments to schoolboard@springcovesd.org

    Board of School Directors The Spring Cove School District is governed by a Board comprised of nine members elected by the citizens of the following townships and boroughs:

             Freedom Township
             Huston Township
             Martinsburg Borough
             North Woodbury Township
             Roaring Spring Borough
             Taylor Township

    The Board is governed by Pennsylvania School Code and the Pennsylvania Department of Education. The Board acts as the agent for the residents of the Spring Cove School District in matters related to public education. The quality and performance of the school system is the Board's primary concern. The Board establishes educational goals for District students and governs a program of education designed to meet those goals. This program includes, but is not limited to, the adoption of courses of study and textbooks; and the employment of all staff members, including their duties, wages and salaries, and terms of employment. The Board is responsible for enforcing mandatory laws and regulations. The Board is committed to educating all students to the best of their individual abilities and is the agent responsible for establishing, maintaining and evaluating the public education activities of the school district, in accordance with law.
    Term expirations are listed below:

    Board Member

    Term Expires

    Mrs. Amy Acker-Knisely


    Mr. Harold Blattenberger


    Mr. Floyd Deterline


    Mr. Brian Gahagan  

    Mrs. Christine Gojmerac


    Mr. Jason Rhykerd


    Mr. James Smith


    Miss Mary Smith


    Mr. Troy Wright

    The Board is comprised of six committees that work to conduct the business of the District. The committees are as follows:

    Educational Program Committee
    Finance and Legal Committee
    Student Services and Activities Committee
    Buildings and Grounds Committee
    Personnel and Executive Committee

    The Board is served by the law firm of Beard Legal Group and the auditing firm of Ritchey, Ritchey and Koontz.